“If this song was about D.C., it would be called Adams Morgan, right?”

That title is a quote from Theo Katzman when introducing his song “Brooklyn” to a sold-out crowd at the Filmore in Silver Spring (ed.- For those of you not from the DMV, Silver Spring is on the outskirts of D.C.).

This past Sunday I saw Theo Katzman at the last stop of the Listen Up Tour, which is musician/actor Darren Criss’ first solo tour.

But let me start from the begininning…

Two months ago my friend approached me about seeing the Darren Criss show in D.C. She is a huge Darren fan and since I knew my sister would be in D.C. this summer, I agreed to go along. Also, I can’t lie,  I’ve been following Darren’s career since he was still a student at the University of Michigan. So yes, I’m also a fan.

The show was absolutely incredible. Theo Katzman opened with a great set that the editor in chief of Mother Jones described as:

theokatzman

Yes, I’m not making that up. The EIC of Mother Jones was at the Darren Criss show with his daughters. This is what he had to say about the main act:

Darren Criss Twwet

Really, what more do I need to write? I could gush about Darren for paragraphs and paragraphs and profess my new love for Theo and talk about how amazing he is live. But instead I will let the tweets of a middle-aged, serious journalist do the talking for me.

In addition to the performances being killer, the show itself was well designed. The lights were amazing. Rarely do I leave a show going, “Wow, those lights were great weren’t they?” But, they really were.

Despite the weather (torrential downpour while waiting in line) and the poor customer service of The Filmore (which opened the doors late despite the aforementioned torrential downpour), the show was worth every penny and every hour I spent traveling to D.C. on the Megabus.

I want to dedicate this blog post to my very wonderful sister for hosting us at her sublet. I’m so glad she was able to enjoy the show with me and my friend.

I’m going to go listen to Theo Katzman’s “Romance without Finance” on repeat now, so here are some  pictures/ evidence I need to get a better camera before I study abroad:

Theo

Listen Up Tour 2013-Silver Spring 008 Listen Up Tour 2013-Silver Spring 012

Listen Up Tour 2013-Silver Spring 069
Darren Criss playing drums with Theo Katzman

 Listen Up Tour 2013-Silver Spring 037 Listen Up Tour 2013-Silver Spring 033 Listen Up Tour 2013-Silver Spring 030Listen Up Tour 2013-Silver Spring 040 Listen Up Tour 2013-Silver Spring 061 Listen Up Tour 2013-Silver Spring 063 Listen Up Tour 2013-Silver Spring 075

One thought on ““If this song was about D.C., it would be called Adams Morgan, right?”

Leave a Reply

