On the other side of the byline

I am reluctant to call myself a journalist.

I study alongside some  talented student journalists at the School of Journalism and Mass Communication and have a twin sister who has two D.C. magazine internships under her belt.

When was my last published byline that wasn’t a blog post or a newsletter article? November 2012.

As I was saying, I haven’t really earned the title of journalist lately.

Yet it still feels weird to be on the other side of the byline as a public relations professional.

The Herald-Sun published an article about Nourish International’s upcoming Summer Institute. And I was the one who pitched the story.

Image

Getting a pitch actually covered by a journalist is strange and satisfying at the same time. Most of my life I’ve been the one writing the articles and not trying to get other people to do it.

Although it may not seem like a big deal to my inner-journalist, this is an important milestone in my career as a public relations professional.

Nourish International is a nonprofit with a mission I believe in, and I am happy to see them get some media attention. If this article gets  people interested in Nourish’s mission or encourages them to attend the banquet  I’ve done my job.

 

Leave a Reply

