Closing Time at the Chocolate Factory

It’s a rare occurrence when you find yourself wanting to stay at the office at 6 p.m. on a Friday night. But that’s exactly what happened on my last day at Ogilvy. I had finished up any remaining projects hours ago. My supervisor offered multiple times that I could just go home at 5 if I wanted.

Yet there I still was. Because even though I could leave, I didn’t want to.

I didn’t want to leave the freezing cold conference room I had spent the past ten weeks working in. I didn’t want to leave the eight interns I had worked with side-by-side every day.

So we all sat there for a little longer while some of us wrapped up filling out time sheets or took down the posters that had adorned the walls for the past ten weeks. After the full-time employees had stopped filing in and out to say their goodbyes, there we still were.

Saying goodbye is hard. Knowing from the start that eventually you’ll have to leave doesn’t make it any easier. There are plenty of people I’ve spent time with this summer that I’ll see again.

But there are plenty that I probably won’t. The world is big and things get busy and old acquaintances disappear until they resurface when you least expect them to. Life happens.

But as the minutes ticked past 6 p.m., I realized that this summer was more than just a job. More than just a line on my resume.

This summer was an adventure.

“Adventure is important in life. Making memories matters. It doesn’t have to be a secret sea plane and an historic sports moment. But to have a great life, you need great memories. Grab any intriguing offer. Say yes to a challenge, and to the unknown. Be creative in adding drama and scope to your own life. Work at it, like a job. Money from effort comes and goes. But effort from imagination and following adventure creates stories that you keep forever. And anyone can do it.”

― Rob Lowe, Love Life

The skyline from the roof of the Chocolate Factory
The skyline from the roof of the Chocolate Factory
Leave a Reply

